County History

Ramsey County was established on January 4, 1873 from Pembina County and organized on January 25, 1883. The county seat was Creel City, which was renamed Devils Lake in 1884. The County was named for Alexander Ramsey (1815-1903), first Everyone of Minnesota Territory.  He later served as the state's Governor and U.S. Senator, and as Secretary of War under President Rutherford B. Hayes. He was also the namesake of Ramsey County, Minnesota.

Andreas' 1884 Historical Atlas of Dakota: For anyone researching in Ramsey County this is must reading. Many of the early settler's names are listed, particularly the very first to enter, organize, and do business in the county. 
Ramsey County Map highlighting location of the county
Ramsey County encompasses approximately 1,200 square miles.  

In 2015, the Census Bureau estimated the population of Ramsey County at 11,630.  

Additional demographic information is available from the U.S. Census Bureau's Quick Facts.

Table Source

Source: U.S. Census Bureau

County Population

Year Population
1980 13,026
1990 12,681
2000 12,066
2010 11,451
2014 Estimated 11,564
2015 Estimated 11,630

City and Township Population (2010 Census)

Geographic area Total population
Ramsey County 11,451
Bartlett township 71
Brocket city 57
Cato township 17
Chain Lakes township 12
Churchs Ferry city 12
Coulee township 65
Crary city 142
Creel township 1,305
De Groat township 22
Devils Lake city 7,141
Dry Lake township 44
Edmore city 182
Fancher township 51
Freshwater township 75
Grand Harbor township 163
Hammer township 52
Hampden city 48
Harding township 33
Highland Center township 43
Hope township 7
Klingstrup township 46
Lawton city 30
Lawton township 28
Lillehoff township 25
Minnewaukan township 199
Morris township 53
Newbre township 36
Newland township 26
Noonan township 31
North Creel township 426
Northfield township 27
Odessa township 49
Ontario township 72
Overland township 14
Pelican township 39
Poplar Grove township 218
Prospect township 26
Royal township 24
South Minnewaukan township 225
Starkweather city 117
Stevens township 67
Sullivan township 26
Triumph township 38
Webster township 67
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2010 Census.
2010 Census Redistricting Data (Public Law 94-171) Summary File, Tables P1 and H1